Intimidating TBR Book Tag (English Version)

30 Sep

A great Tag for me, since my TBR, or “To Be Read” pile, has reached cosmic proportions lately. Here I will focus on “Foreign” literature. Books in my mother tongue will be dealt with in the French version.

As per usual, these are my opinions, and if you see something you don’t like, you can suck it up like an adult and move on with your life.

Let’s go!

  1. What book have you been unable to finish?

According to my Goodreads shelves, there would be 33 of those, 6 of which deserve a re-read or a second chance because I tried reading them at the wrong time in my life.

However, some books are just not for me. The latest I dropped (after 611 pages – a fair trial by all standards) is London by Edward Rutherfurd. I just couldn’t: the fiction takes over the history of the city waaay too much… and it’s bad fiction, with uninteresting characters and lazy, cliché plot twists.

london_uk

What book have you yet to read because…

  1. …you just haven’t had the time?

All the books still waiting in my TBR. Duh…

  1. …it’s a sequel?

That would be Olympos by Dan Simmons. I read Illium ages ago, when it was first published in France. And I need to reread it in English before I move on to volume 2… And I’m feeling too lazy for this right now.

dan_simmons_ilium

dan_simmons_olympos

  1. …it’s brand new?

I will go with “it’s just arrived on your shelves”, for I mostly buy second hand books. I’d say Cleopatra: A Life by Stacy Schiff. I just got it and it’s a gorgeous hardcover (hardcovers are growing on me lately). Plus, I’ve been fascinated by Cleopatra for decades now, so I can’t wait to read this one!

cleopatra

  1. …you read a book by the same author and didn’t enjoy it?

Not to blame the same author twice, but reading London and not being able to finish it because it was boring (which is a shame, especially when you love that city as much as I do), I’m not so eager to pick up Edward Rutherfurd’s New York novel. My copy may be a beautiful hardcover, but it will wait a while on my shelf…

ny-rutherfurd

  1. …you’re just not in the mood for it?

This may apply to most books, for I’m definitely a ‘mood reader’. Still, the Oscar goes to A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens. No contest. I never seem to be in the mood for that one! I’ve picked it up so many times, only to read a few pages and feel like: ‘meh, it’s not the right time’.

Tale of 2 cities

  1. …it’s humongous?

Size is not a problem for me, I tend to prefer big books anyway. But I have to admit, War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy kind of freaks me out. Weird really, for I have tried to read it once already, and made it through a few hundred pages, then dropped it. Moreover, I absolutely LOVE Anna Karenina, so I know War and Peace is right up my alley but somehow, I haven’t gathered the courage to tackle it yet. But it will happen… someday…

getp

  1. …because it was a cover buy that turned out to have poor reviews?

Sorry, I don’t do cover buys, even if I love me some beautiful editions.

  1. What is the most intimidating book in your TBR pile?

There are many, in terms of subject matter. But I’d say the one I’m most wary of reading, while being excited as well, is Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov. Yeah. Enough said.

lolita

Laisser un commentaire

