Unpopular Opinions Book Tag (English Version)

27 Juil

OK, after the Classics Book Tag, this one is my favourite on Booktube. Since I’m an older reader, and French on top of that, my answers might be very different from what you’re used to coming from the younger, anglo-saxon Booktube community.

As I said in the previous tag, these are MY opinions. No disclaimer. No excuse. No apologies. No trigger warnings or other such nonsense.

Here it is!

  1. A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like

Isaac Asimov’s Foundation series. I found it utterly boring, there’s no action, no battles, very often nothing happens and the characters aren’t around long enough for us to care about them. But they’re in the plot long enough to bore us with empty dialogues.

I did enjoy the concept of psychohistory, though.

Cycle_Fondation

  1. A Popular Book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

A popular book that everyone seems to hate? Contradictory much?

I’ll have to go with a classic here, Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert. Almost everyone has to read it for school in France, and almost everyone ends up hating it. I did the first time I read it as a teenager. But as I gave it another try in adulthood, I loved it so much! It is a great book actually! Madame-bovary_couv

  1. A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with OR an OTP that you don’t like

I don’t really care if the author doesn’t pair the main character with the love interest I was ‘rooting for’. It’s his/her book, any plotline can be interesting and if he/she chose this couple instead of that one, there has to be a reason, often a good one.

  1. A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for

YA. I missed that train altogether and don’t plan jumping on the bandwagon anytime soon.

  1. A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Harry Potter. I like a lot of characters in the HP series, starting with Hermione and Dumbledore, but Whinny-Harry pisses me off.

  1. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into

Marc Lévy, a French author who writes popular, lazy books. Tried 2 of those, found them mediocre and boring.

lévy si vrai

lévy où es

  1. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

Apart from the misuse of the word ‘trope’? I’d say the prophecy thing. It is a lazy excuse of a plot tool, that every author worth his/her salt should avoid (yes, even you, George R.R. Martin!), unless it’s to twist it and make fun of it.

  1. A popular series that you have no interest in reading

Where do I begin? Any YA series that’s been launched since Twilight?

  1. The saying goes « The book is always better than the movie », but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

First off, that saying is absolutely not true. Many times, the movie or the TV series (a great format for book adaptations, BTW) is as good as, sometimes even better, than the book.

For this one, I’d go with Dances with Wolves. Kevin Costner did wonders with Michael Blake’s novel, which was good in its own way, I have to say.

dances-with-wolves-movie-poster-1990-1010452369

Laisser un commentaire

