Pasta Book Tag (English Version)

27 Juil

As usual with those book tags, the English version will mention books originally written in foreign languages, and the French version will deal with French books only.

I like this tag, the questions are quite detailed and creative. Plus, I like pasta.

No disclaimer of any kind, no apology, no trigger warning. We’re talking about books, come on! Grown ups don’t need that kind of BS.

  1. Macaroni & Cheese – The most heartfelt work you ever read

If you mean heartfelt as in sincere, I’d say Christopher Hitchens’s memoir, Hitch 22. Christopher didn’t mince words, even to talk about himself. Loved it.

hitch 22

  1. Spaghetti & Meatballs – A work you know inside and out (like you can twirl with your fork)

It would have to be a book I’ve read several times and for this question I’ll go with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I’ve read this so many times, guys… Surprising thing is, after all these years, it manages to retain some of its magic.

armoire magique

  1. Lasagna – A work filled with complex layers

For me, that could apply to almost any kind of ‘magical realism’ book, so I’ll go with one of the all-time masters: Gabriel Garcia Marquez and his masterpiece One Hundred Years of Solitude. The more you read it, the more you feel you’ll have to go back to it to fully understand all the layers of interpretation. Brilliant!

Cent_ans_de_solitude

  1. Stuffed Shells – A work that is attention grabbing (stuffed with goodness) from start to finish

Attention grabbing? How about a huge page turner like Ken Follett’s Pillars of the Earth?

piliers terre

  1. Penne Vodka – A work for a younger audience with an adult theme hidden inside

For me, that would be Richard Dawkins’s The Magic of Reality, targeted at children aged 9-14, but perfectly fine for an adult who’s curious about the wonders of nature.

magic-of-reality

Either that, or Orwell’s Animal Farm, which was a mandatory read at school when I was like 13, and which develops very heavy adult themes about politics, democracy, etc…

Animal Farm

  1. Elbow Macaroni – A work that is easy to read

I’ll twist that question a little, by adding ‘surprisingly’, otherwise there would be hundreds of candidates! So, a work that was surprisingly easy to read would be Evelina by Fanny Burney. Before starting to read it, I was very doubtful: an epistolary novel, in XVIIIth century English? How would I be able to understand a thing? As it turned out, it was a fast-paced, easy read for me, and a lot of fun too!

evelina

  1. Farfalle (Bow Ties) – A work you would read to catch someone’s attention

I don’t read to catch anyone’s attention. What kind of question is that?

  1. Noodles – A long work that was a great experience to read

I have a genuine fondness for big books (or chunkers), and most of those I’ve read were a great experience. But for the sake of answering, I’d go with Drood by Dan Simmons. I was so totally engrossed in the story that it didn’t feel like 1200 pages at all (in the French mass market paperback). Brilliantly crafted, a true gem.

drood

  1. Lo Mein – Your favorite work of Eastern literature or about the East

I don’t know much about Eastern and Far Eastern literature (yet). I could go with any of the Dalai Lama’s books I’ve read, but that would be cheating, I feel. I’d rather go with a work of literature, in that case James Clavell’s Shogun. Loved it! So much happening, and I’ve always been fascinated by medieval Japan.

shogun

  1. Ditalini – A writer you feel is essential to a particular genre

Stephen King to the horror genre. The guy is so prolific, so important that he simply can’t be overlooked.

Author Stephen King at a press event to unveil the Kindle 2

  1. Favorite Pasta – What’s your favorite pasta?

Bolognese (the Vegan version).

Vegan_Spaghetti_Bolognese_Recipe_001

Une Réponse to “Pasta Book Tag (English Version)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pasta Book Tag (version française) | L'Orpailleuse de Paname - 27 juillet 2016

    […] la version française qui, contrairement à celle présentée en Anglais, se concentre sur les livres […]

Laisser un commentaire

