Classics Book Tag (English Version)

26 Juil

I’ve seen many ‘Booktubers’ do this book tag and, since I’ve always been reading a lot of classics, I felt like: “Why not do this tag?”

It was originally created by Vienna on her blog It’s a Book’s World: http://itsabooksworld.booklikes.com/post/1104267/the-classics-booktag-original

In this English version of the Tag, I’ll limit my answers to classics written in foreign languages. I’ll post a French version of this tag pretty soon, where I’ll answer with French classics only.

BTW, these are obviously MY opinions. No disclaimer. No apologies. No trigger warning and other such nonsense.

Here we go!

  1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like

Can there be an ‘overhyped’ classic? Maybe so… For me, that would be The Great Gatsby, although Tess of the d’Urbervilles (Thomas Hardy) and The Scarlet Letter (Nathaniel Hawthorne) aren’t far behind. I really can’t see what the fuss is all about with Scott Fitzgerald’s so-called masterpiece. Everyone seems to love it, but there’s not much of a plot, the style is barren, the characters are barely sketched, utterly uninteresting and unlikable. Not that unlikable characters are necessarily a drawback, they can make a book amazing… when they’re well written. Which is not the case in The Great Gatsby, I think.

great-gatsby-penguin-modern-classics

  1. Favorite time period to read about

This is difficult, I can’t choose one over all others. Sorry!

  1. Favorite fairy-tale

I haven’t read that many fairy tales, but I will go with The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen. Forget Disney, the original is bleak, dark and wonderful.

mermaid

  1. A classic you’re embarrassed you haven’t read yet

So many classics, so little time… How can one be embarrassed or ashamed for those he/she has not discovered yet?

  1. Top 5 classics you would like to read soon

I never plan on what I’ll read next, for it depends completely on my mood at the time I finish the previous book.

But those ‘foreign’ classics keep calling my name from the shelves:

  • Fictions (Jorge Luis Borges)

Fictions

  • The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (Anne Brontë)

tenant wildfell

  • Middlemarch (George Eliot)

middlemarch

  • Homage to Catalonia (George Orwell)

homage

  • War and Peace (Leo Tolstoy) getp
  1. Favorite modern book/series based on a classic

I don’t read all the YA re-writing of classics and fairy tales, so I’ll go outside the box for this one. That would be Dan Simmons’s Hyperion Cantos (especially the first book Hyperion) and The Ancestor’s Tale by Richard Dawkins. Both are inspired by Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, most notably in their structure. Brilliant!

Hyperion SimmonsAncestor's Tale

  1. Favorite movie version/TV-series based on a classic

I’ll go with a movie for this one, and that would be My Fair Lady, a great adaptation of George Bernard Shaw’s play Pygmalion.

my_fair_lady

  1. Worst classic to movie adaptation

Any movie adaptation of Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein.

  1. Favorite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from

I’m not much of a collector, but these are the editions in foreign language I like:

  • Penguin Classics (black spine): they’re very agreeable to manipulate and read (great font).

tenant wildfell

  • Penguin Modern Classics: for the very same reasons, plus I find them arty and classy as hell.

Animal Farm

  • Penguin English Library: especially the old ones with the rubber cover, very nice to handle.

Tale of 2 cities

  • Vintage Classics: with the red spine and arty covers. Love those!

revolutionary-road

  1. An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone

Same doubts regarding the notion of ‘underhyped’ classics as with the ‘overhyped’ ones in the first question. But anyway, I’ll go with any of Walter Scott’s novels, which are not talked about on Booktube nearly as much as they deserve. Though I loved Ivanhoe as a child and a teenager, my favourite is The Heart of Mid-Lothian.

Heart milothian

2 Réponses to “Classics Book Tag (English Version)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Classics Book Tag (version française) | L'Orpailleuse de Paname - 26 juillet 2016

    […] Ceci est la version française du Tag, donc je vais limiter mes réponses aux classiques francophones. Pour les classiques de langue étrangère, voir mon article Classics Book Tag (English Version). […]

  2. Unpopular Opinions Book Tag (English Version) | L'Orpailleuse de Paname - 27 juillet 2016

    […] after the Classics Book Tag, this one is my favourite on Booktube. Since I’m an older reader, and French on top of that, my […]

Laisser un commentaire

