Let it snow in Paris

22 Jan
Eiffel Tower from the métro on Monday morning. I see it everyday when I go to work. Am I lucky or what?! Still, I find it utterly ugly...

Eiffel Tower from the métro on Monday morning. I see it everyday when I go to work. Am I lucky or what?! Still, I find it utterly ugly…

You might already know, dear Reader, that most of northern Europe has been caught in snow and blizzards these past days. Paris is no exception. It has started snowing on Friday evening, and that damn snow held pretty good until Monday afternoon.

Place des Innocents - center Paris, on the site of a very old graveyard.

Place des Innocents – center Paris, on the site of an early medieval graveyard

I’m a lucky girl. I live in one of the most beautiful cities on the planet, and as its numerous parks and landmarks were covered in a white cloak, it was just stunning.

Castle of Vincennes - Village Tower

Castle of Vincennes – Village Tower from the outside (main entrance)

Same from inside the Castle (2010)

Same from inside the Castle (2010)

Close to my home stands the largest medieval castle preserved: the Castle of Vincennes. It’s like Versailles, but for the Middle Ages. Anyway, I couldn’t resist walking there last Saturday to enjoy the view of those centuries-old stones caught in a white case. What do you think? Isn’t it beautiful? I couldn’t go inside the castle that time, but a few years ago, the site was open to visitors despite the snow and I could take pictures. Loved it!

Castle of Vincennes - Moat in the snow

Castle of Vincennes – Moat in the snow

Castle of Vincennes - Village Tower and its drawbridge across the Moat

Castle of Vincennes – Village Tower and its drawbridge across the Moat

Castle of Vincennes - Main Tower and its mantle wall (2010 shot)

Castle of Vincennes – Main Tower and its mantle wall (2010)

Main Tower from the outside

Main Tower and its mantle wall from the outside

Castle of Vincennes - Holy Chapel (2010 shot)

Castle of Vincennes – Holy Chapel (2010)

Here I throw some random shots taken in snowy Paris.

Enjoy!

The legendary Arc de Triomphe on Monday evening

The legendary Arc de Triomphe on Monday evening

The Champs Elysées avenue in the snow.

The Champs Elysées in the snow

Laisser un commentaire

