Aux Champs Elysées

18 Déc

Happy Holidays everyone! I hope you’re all making fabulous plans for Christmas and New Year’s Eve!

Today I went for a walk on the famous Champs Elysées Avenue, just enjoying myself, watching people, shops and getting drenched in the pouring rain (no, just kidding with this one)…

I took pictures too, since the whole area has been decorated with colorful lights for the Holidays. Depending on the year, those decorations can be good or bad. During the several past years, they were horrible. I remember the one time they sort of wrapped the trees in some colorful bags made of tulle. Gosh, only a few weeks after, the bags got dirty, grey because of the pollution, filled with leaves and pigeons’ poop. Imagine, the alledgedly ‘most beautiful avenue in the world’, displaying poop as a Christmas ornament!

So this year, I was quite concerned when I heard they’d done it again at the City Hall and decorated the place with outrageously bright lights. But I have to admit, I like the result, as gaudy as it appears: it’s like Pop Art and Disco all rolled up into one. I like how changeable it is since the light colors switch from cold (white and blue) to girly (pink) to warm (red and orange). I also enjoyed what they’ve done with the Ferris wheel at La Concorde Plaza.

What do you think? Doesn’t it make you want to jump in the first plane and come here?

Careful though, for you might have to queue for a while under the rain, like those poor fellows before entering Disney Store ^^

Laisser un commentaire

